Challenge Eclipse - Ask the AC (Panel)

Chris Aniszczyk, Wayne Beaton (Eclipse Foundation), Jeff McAffer, Martin Oberhuber (Intel Corporation), Darin Swanson (IBM), Mik Kersten (Tasktop), Andrew Overholt

Eclipse Ecosystem - Committer And Contributor · Long - one hour
Thursday, 10:10, 50 minutes | Grand Ballroom FGH


The Eclipse Architecture Council is responsible for the Eclipse Platform Architecture, by mentoring new projects and ensuring the principles of the Eclipse Development Process. Come meet some of the most experienced members of the Eclipse Community, and ask them tough questions about project leadership, open source principles, software architecture, and best practices found at Eclipse. Challenge what you dislike, and see what the AC can do for you - or just hear what life at Eclipse is like in reality aside beautiful colored slides.

This talk is intended as a panel with 5 - 10 AC members sitting on "hot chairs" for answering questions from the audience. A moderator will ask some incentive questions to start discussions, until the audience comes up with some topics.

Chris is the co-lead for the Eclipse Plug-in Development Environment (PDE) project and a jack of all trades at EclipseSource. Chris tends to be all over the place inside the Eclipse community by committing on various Eclipse projects and also bringing in new projects. He sits on the Eclipse Architecture Council, the Technology PMC and the Eclipse Foundation Board of Directors. Chris's passions are software advocacy, open-source, running, tooling, modularity and anything related to Eclipse. He's always available to discuss open-source or Eclipse over a frosty beverage.

Wayne is also the editor-in-chief of Eclipse Corner, PMC Lead for the Technology Project, Project Lead for the Examples Project, co-Project Lead for the SOC Project, and an advisor for osbootcamp. In 1982, he received the prestigious Chief Scouts Award from then-Governor General Edward Schreyer. In 1984 his team was selected to represent beautiful British Columbia in the Kinsmen Voyageur Relay. In his spare time, he writes down meaningless accomplishments from his youth in a lame attempt to impress the reader.

Jeff McAffer leads the Eclipse Equinox OSGi, RCP and Orbit teams and is co-founder and CTO of EclipseSource. He is one of the architects of the Eclipse Platform and a co-author of The Eclipse Rich Client Platform and Equinox and OSGi - The power behind Eclipse (Addison-Wesley). Jeff co-leads the Eclipse RT PMC and is a member of the Eclipse Project PMC, the Tools Project PMC, the Eclipse Architecture Council and the Eclipse Foundation Board of Directors. Jeff is currently interested all aspects of Eclipse componentry from designing, developing and building bundles to deploying, installing and ultimately running them. Previous lives include being a Senior Technical Staff Member at IBM, work in distributed/parallel OO computing (Server Smalltalk, massively parallel Smalltalk, etc) as well as expert systems, meta-level architectures and a PhD at the University of Tokyo.

Martin is the leader of the DSDP - Target Management project, PMC member, Platform core and e4 committer, and currently chair of the Eclipse Architecture Council. Driven by his desire for constant improvement, he is involved in many areas around Eclipse. Martin holds an MS degree in Telematics from the University of Technology Graz/Austria, and has been working on Wind River IDEs in Salzburg, Austria since 1998.

Darin Swanson is one of the original committers on the Eclipse project, working as the Ant Component lead for the Eclipse Platform Project and as a key committer for the Eclipse debug support. He did a tour of duty on the Eclipse Board of Directors as a Committer Representative for 2007. Darin has presented numerous Eclipse tutorials and talks at several conferences and has helped organize and participated in numerous code camps. He actively fields questions in the Eclipse newsgroups and has been nominated as a top committer. He has also been active in other open source arenas having participated in mailing list discussions, reported bugs and supplied patches to the CruiseControl and Apache Ant projects. Darin is currently heavily involved in the Jazz project working on the Process team. His blog which includes entries on coding and running can be found here.

Mik Kersten is the CEO of Tasktop Technologies, lead of Mylyn and member of the Eclipse Architecture Council and Board of Directors. While on the AspectJ team at Xerox PARC, Mik implemented the first aspect-oriented programming tool support and co-created the AspectJ and AJDT projects on Eclipse. He then created Mylyn and the Task-Focused Interface during his PhD at the University of British Columbia. Mik likes building tools that offload our brains and make it easier to get creative work done. He is a frequent speaker at developer conferences and was recently recognized in JavaOne Rock Star hall of fame.

Andrew Overholt works for Red Hat as a part of their Tools group. He is the project lead for the Linux Tools project which is a part of the Technology top-level project.

Gold sponsors

IBM Corporation

Windriver logo


Sun Microsystems



BIRT Exchange by Actuate

Silver sponsors

Innovations Software Technology






Innovent Solutions

SAP Business Objects

Hardware Sponsor


Lanyard Sponsor

Intel logo

report a problem with this page